#12

Orcas Island is my #12 travel memory. Orcas Island is one word: BLISS. Orcas Island is the second biggest island of the San Juan Islands, which are about 2.5 hours outside of Seattle. The islands are hands down one of the most beautiful places I have ever been, and will ever go. You have to take a ferry to get to Orcas, or any of the islands, and that is one of the best parts. The ferry ride alone is gorgeous. I have been going to Orcas since I was little, so this entry is more like hundreds of travel memories packed into one. Camp Orkila (the best camp ever) is located on Orcas Island. It is a summer camp located right on the Puget Sound, and I have had some of the best times of my life there. Even after I was too old for summer camp, Orcas had me coming back to camp in Moran State Park. Cascade Lake is a lake inside the park where your campsite is literally ON the water. I could roll out of my tent and be in Cascade Lake. Not far from our amazing campsite every year, is Mount Constitution. Now when I say not far, I mean not a far drive. However, it is a 6 mile hike up to the top. How ever you get up to the top, it is SO worth it. You can see all the way to Canada, and you can see all the surrounding islands. It is the single most beautiful and serene place to watch the sunset. Something everyone should experience at least once in their life.

Leave a Reply

