Summer Reading

I am currently reading Handle With Care by Jodi Picoult. Picoult is a very well known author I’d like to think, and every one of her books is about a different controversial issue. Her book Nineteen Minutes, about a school shooting in a small town, was one of the better books I’ve ever read. Handle With Care is about a young girl with osteogenesis imperfecta, aka brittle bone syndrome, and the difficult life her and her family live because of this disease. The girl’s mom ends up suing her obstetrician, who also happens to be her best friend, for wrongful birth and medical malpractice, and the resulting effects of this lawsuit is the main plot of the book. I’m about 75% done (according to my Kindle), and it is very good so far.

 

After Handle With Care, next on my reading list is Gone Girl. I have been trying to get into this book for almost a year now, after everyone and their mom recommended it to me. I always start reading the first chapter, but never get further. So, hopefully since I have an off week from work, I can finish Handle With Care tonight, and start Gone Girl tomorrow? Here’s hoping.

 

Most likely, however, I will probably read the last two True Blood books in the series, since I am behind on that, and to be honest they interest me a bit more than Gone Girl right now. Woops?

Leave a Reply

