Ubud

First stop on my whirlwind Asia trip was the town of Ubud in Bali, Indonesia. Ubud is known as the cultural center of Bali. I spent four days there and it was the perfect amount of time. I got in on NYE and after a 30 hour travel day went straight to bed. So my first full day was New Years Day. First thing I did in the morning was take a Balinese cooking class. It was so much fun! We learned how to make seven different traditional Balinese dishes, and they were delicious. And spicy! After the cooking class, I walked thru the backroads and got to see some true Balinese life and interact with some locals. I made my way to the monkey forest. Hint: do not buy bananas at the entrance. The monkeys will beeline for you. It was hilarious and awesome to have them climb all over you just to get a banana, but also terrifying. Quite the experience. The rest of my days in Ubud were spent relaxing at a spa (for so cheap I got a 2.5 hour oil massage, flower petal bath, body scrub, and facial), watching a traditional Balinese dancing show, discovering new forms of yoga, exploring temples, trying not to get hit by scooters, and walking thru countless rice paddy fields. If you go to Bali, Ubud is a must!

Leave a Reply

