Balling on a Budget

In moving forward with my passion for travel, I have decided to find a niche or theme to go with this blog. And that theme is definitely how to travel on a budget. After putting myself in over 10K of debt at one point, and coming back from it, and all the while never stopping traveling, I definitely think I know a bit about living off of a budget. And my last trip, backpacking Central America for a month, was my most budgeted trip yet. I set out my budget per day, and stuck to it. This is not to say I never broke it. I remember one day in Mexico, we really wanted to go out and party one night, but I had hit my quota for the day. I calculated in my head, if I want to go to this bar and have all you can drink vodka punch (which of course I did), I would have to knock my budget for the next day down by $10. And I did it! Also, I don’t feel like I missed out on any experiences because of my budget. Especially when you are backpacking, cheap or free experiences are plentiful. You just have to know where to look.

Leave a Reply

