Salento

After 4 days in Medellin, I took quite possibly the worst bus ride of my life (curviest roads and worst driver) 6 hours South to the town of Salento in the coffee region of Colombia. Salento was an absolute dream after the hustle and bustle of Medellin. I arrived to town on Sunday afternoon, and in Colombia, just like in Spain, Sunday afternoons are the time for locals to be out and about. The streets were packed with people. It was a great way to experience the city. After hiking up to check out the viewpoint of the mountains on the way to the famous Valle de Cocora, we sampled some amazing street food, including empanadas with the best guacamole I’ve ever had. I also got to try some interesting Colombian specialities like chicken arenas (from my fave street cart guy 😊) and a weird dulce de leche and cheese pancake concoction. Another fave part of Salento: dogs EVERYWHERE and they weren’t strays. Very cute, friendly, well cared for dogs. The next morning, after devouring a delicious American breakfast at my new fave restaurant Brunch, I took a Willy (old school Jeep and the only mode of transportation in Salento) out to the Valle de Cocora or Valley of the Wax Palms. This is the only place in the world where this one tree exists. And the valley was gorgeous. I got to explore it on horseback because I sprained my ankle in Medellin and couldn’t hike. Me and my new bestie Orlafo the horse, and my awesome guide Sebastian, had a great time. Sebastian spoke no English so it was a great 2 hour chat to help me practice my Spanish. Make sure you make a stop in Salento!

Leave a Reply

